Ok, class….today’s lesson!….Only kidding….well……

I have been pretty quiet lately, sorry folks.  Lots going on and yet….well, you know…Life gets in the way.  However, I did want to talk to you all today about a frustration of mine.  The LACK of real solid information out on the web about the process of re-lactating.  Ok, Ok, OK!  Before you get the undies in a bundle!  I know lots and lots of sites with information, but honestly, there isn’t a lot of written documentation about studies done on women that are trying to induce for ANR/ABF.

Through my job, I have access to a great deal of medical/scientific/informative journals.  This provides me a great way to gain information about subjects I never understood or maybe a medicine that had studies done on it.  One day at work, I tried to find information out about women who are trying to induce NOT for adoption or normal birth but for the honest and fun life we are trying to obtain!  I say ‘fun’ because let’s face it….who doesn’t like a boobie or two!  ( I do mean that with the best intentions!)

Ok, so guess what?  There isn’t alot out there.  There are journal articles about galactogogues (both herbal and pharmaceutical) and their uses and things of that nature; but always geared toward the ‘moms’, not us ANR/ABF folks.  But there isn’t anything that says:  HEY!!!  Over here!!!  Try this!  So in my wonderfully inquisitive mind, I HAD to keep looking.  I did find this great print out of a list of herbs that was published on the ILCA (International Lactation Consultant Association) website found here.  The main thing I do NOT like about this list is that the author, Lisa Marasco; does not include what the properties are for each herb.  Some herbs are used to assist with the production of breast milk, some are used to maintain a level of milk; either way, there is a huge list of herbs and it does give you the possible side-effects; so I wouldn’t say it was all bad…Just not complete.

As I continued my search for information, I ran across a wonderful website www.breastnotes.com, but more specifically, Re-lactation Overview.  What caught my attention was the instructions for manual expression was broken down by breast cup size.  Hey, I admit I am a large breasted woman; and the methods I kept reading about, just never seemed to be ‘enough’.  I did begin a dialog with the site owner, Ken Smith, after asking for a more detailed description of  Manual Expression of Your Breasts.  I thank Ken for allowing me to pass this information along.  I have also added BreastNotes to my list of links.

Ken writes, “The purpose of www.BreastNotes.com is to teach others about issues concerning breast anatomy, development, lactation, breastfeeding and disease prevention, detection and treatment. There is no financial connection or compensation at all, and no advertising per se. I may recommend books or products but that happens only if I feel it might work toward helping the reader to accomplish what we all want them to accomplish. And as you can see, ANR is only one area that I work with on that website.”  Ken is also quick to add that he is not a doctor and can not offer any diagnosis; but the knowledge he has helped me with truly was a god-send for me.  Especially since I do not have a partner at this time.

I plan to stay in touch with Ken and share some ideas back and forth.  I also plan to continue to offer any advice I possibly can as I find it.  Got to keep up on all this stuff you know….something is always changing!!!

Happy Nursing everyone!!!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ok, class….today’s lesson!….Only kidding….well……

  1. TrashCanFoundling says:

    At a minimum the breastnotes webmaster should include a page on ANRs, at least a connection of links if nothing else.

    • That is something that I hope to work on with him. I think it is something that is needed. There are so many ANR sites out there that give such a wide range of information; it would be nice to find a lactation consultant or an MD that would be willing to be a consultant on doing an ANR page. I know that Land of Milk and Honey is one well thought of site, but even there, I find not enough information. I would like a site that isn’t centered around finding a partner, but on how to induce for those that never have lactated and how to re-lactate for those that have. While the process is the same for the most part, there are differences that need to be understood also. The various herbs and how to use them to receive the best benefits; thing on that order.

Leave a comment